Institutional Advancement

Institutional Advancement

The Office of Institutional Advancement (IA) purposefully works to build a solid foundation in higher education advancement work.

Our mission is to serve Virginia State University through the development, cultivation, solicitation, and engagement of our philanthropic partners who provide financial support which advances the academic and student experience at the University. We strive for excellence in all that we do and represent, through ethical and professional best practices which engage all VSU stakeholders.

IA key objectives include:
  • Ethically and professionally raise philanthropic funds for VSU;
  • Provide meaningful engagement of VSU constituents;
  • Effectively communicate the accomplishments of VSU to stakeholders, investors, and constituents
  • Support the Five Focus areas of VSU:
  • Provide a transformative experience for our students
  • Strategically invest in our academic programs
  • Embrace our position as a top Land Grant University
  • Embrace our role as Virginia’s Opportunity University
  • Partner together as a University to tell our story

The Office of Institutional Advancement is comprised of six distinct departments, each with a vital function in carrying out the office’s mission and purpose.  They include Advancement Services, Alumni Relations, Annual Giving, Conference Services, Frontline Fundraising, and Marketing & Communications.  Together, the office is responsible for all of Virginia State University’s philanthropic fundraising support.

Advancement staff

Tonya S. Hall
Vice President External Relations
tshall@vsu.edu
Eldon Burton
Director of Government Relations
eburton@vsu.edu

Chris Bernardo

Database Manager
cbernardo@vsu.edu

Adrian Bond

Development Office Manager
abond@vsu.edu

David Carter

Administrative Assistant
dacarter@vsu.edu

Courtney Grice

Advancement Specialist
cgrice@vsu.edu


Franklin H. Johnson, Jr.

Director of Alumni Relations
fhjohnson@vsu.edu

 

Susan Moening  
Data and Donor Specialist
smoening@vsu.edu  

 

William “Chip” Sawyer 
Major Gift officer
wsawyer@vsu.edu  

 

Jacqueline Smith 
Director of Advancement Services
jmsmith@vsu.edu

 

Contact Us

Box 9027
Storum Hall
1 Hayden Drive
Virginia State University, VA  23806
(804) 524-5045
giving@vsu.edu