VIRGINIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES June 7, 2017; 2:00 – 5:00 p.m. Board Room, Virginia Hall

CALL TO ORDER

Ms. Jennifer Hunter, Committee Chair, called the meeting of the Virginia State University ("VSU") Board of Visitors ("Board") Institutional Advancement Committee to order in the Board Room of Virginia Hall on the campus of Virginia State University at 2:00 P.M.

ROLL CALL

A quorum was present.

Committee Members: Ms. Thursa Crittenden Ms. Pamela Currey (absent) Dr. Alma Hobbs (absent) Mr. Paul Koonce Mr. Xavier Richardson Dr. Daryl Dance Mr. Michael Flemming Mr. Glenn Sessoms (via electronic means)

Administration Present:

Ms. Reshunda L. Mahone, Vice President for Institutional Advancement Dr. Letizia Gambrell-Boone, Vice President for Student Success and Engagement Dr. Annie C. Redd, Special Assistant to the President/Board Liaison Osubi Craig, Special Assistant for Strategic Initiatives/Director, Governmental Relations Pamela Tolson Turner, Director, Office of Communications Dr. Dale Wesson, VP, Research and Economic Development

Legal Counsel Present:

Ms. Ramona L. Taylor, University Legal Counsel Board of Visitors

Other Attendees:

Mr. Travis Edmonds, Office of Information Technology Beverly Everson-Jones, Chair, VSU Foundation/IA Committee Member Dr. Robert Turner, VSU Foundation Durba Chatterjee, Associate VP, Institutional Advancement Jacqueline Smith, Institutional Advancement Stephen Wilson, Institutional Advancement Hubert Harris, VP for Administration Dr. James Norman, Faculty Representative Sharon Taylor, College of Business Emmett Smith, VSU Foundation Dr. Dan Roberts, Honors Program Valerie Jones, VSU Foundation Dr. Kawachi Clemons, Office of the Provost

Board of Visitors Institutional Advancement Committee Minutes June 7, 2017

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MEETING

The Committee approved the minutes from the March 22nd meeting.

DISCUSSION

Ms. Mahone introduced new stal'f: Ms. Durba Chatterjee, Associate Vice President for Institutional Advancement, and Mr. Stephen Wilson, Director of Annual Giving and Ms. Jacqueline Smith, Prospect Researcher.

Ms. Hunter, Chair, announced the purpose of this meeting is a session for members of the Board of Visitors and the VSU Foundation Board to examine projects which present funding opportunities for the institution. The objective for the IA staff and the IA Committee is to develop a proposal for each project, prioritize the projects, and set the fund raising goals for the fiscal year. The list of projects included the Academic Center for Excellence (ACE), Athletics, the Reginald F. Lewis College of Business (Center for Entrepreneurship, the Cyber Security Lab, and student support), Distinguished Service Award, Engineering 4+2 Program, Extenuating Circumstances, Global Experiences (study abroad), graduate assistantships, graduate students travel fund, Harding Street Urban Agriculture Center, Hill Leadership Institute, the Honors Program, K-12 partnerships, medical scholars/legal scholars, military sciences & ROTC, music department, Nursing Program (RN-BSN), Randolph Farm, undergraduate and graduate research, WVST FM and VSTV.

Discussion followed with campus representatives from ACE, the College of Business, and the Honors Program. The Chair indicated that the Institutional Advancement staff will work on the other projects that were not discussed at this meeting. She requested the group to review the other projects listed and inform Ms. Mahone if they were interested in working on them. The group also reviewed a list of corporations and/or potential donors to identify those with whom they could facilitate communication on behalf of VSU.

The Chair indicated that the next steps were to 1) update the project list with the areas discussed at this meeting, 2) invite volunteers to work on the remaining opportunities of excellence, 3) share the list with corporations for their feedback, 4) gather feedback on the IA committee's general approach, and 5) present this information to the Board at its August Retreat.

There being no further business, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Jennifer Hunter, Chain

Harry Black, Rector

Thursa Crittenden, Board Secretary

Jate

Date

Date