VIRGINIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS PERSONNEL & COMPENSATION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Thursday, November 16, 2017

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Glenn Sessoms, Committee Chair, called the meeting of the Virginia State University ("VSU") Board of Visitors ("Board") Personnel and Compensation Committee to order in the President's Dining Room, Gateway Dining and Events Center on the campus of Virginia State University at 8:45 a.m.

ROLL CALL

A quorum was present.

Committee Members Present: Mr. Glenn Sessoms Ms. Thursa Crittenden Ms. Jennifer Hunter (absent) Mr. James J.L. Stegmaier Mr. Huron Winstead

Other Board Members Present: Mr. Gregory Whirley

Administration Present: Dr. Makola M. Abdullah, President Mr. Hubert Harris, Vice President of Administration

Legal Counsel Present: Ms. Ramona L. Taylor, University Legal Counsel Bonnie Holmes, Legal Assistant

AGENDA APPROVED

The Committee unanimously approved the agenda.

REPORTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Division of Administration

Mr. Hubert Harris presented updates on the EASE (Elevating VSU by Building a Better U) Project. The expected outcomes of the EASE project are to (1) elevate VSU's vision and values, (2) align the University structure to support our academic mission, (3) simplify processes to enhance VSU's level of service to its employees and students, and (4) enable and empower our workforce to affect positive change. The EASE project's goals are to (1) realign organizational structure to meet Personnel & Compensation Committee Meeting Minutes Thursday, November 16, 2017 Page 2

JLARC span of control requirements (university-wide) through systematic restructuring, (2) address customer services issues in Business & Support units, and (3) develop and retain human capital.

Discussion followed regarding the reorganization of the Human Resources Department and the benefits of the new structure. Mr. Harris also provided an update on hiring staff within the Human Resources Department.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Chair adjourned the meeting of the Committee at 9:36 a.m.

nome

Glenn Sessoms, Chair

1Q Date

11.30.17/acr

,