#### VIRGINIA STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Virginia State University, Virginia 23806

# President's Residence Committee Meeting Wednesday, April 1, 2015

## CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Alma Hobbs, Chair, called the meeting of the Virginia State University ("VSU") Board of Visitors' President's Residence Committee to order in the Board Room of Virginia Hall at 12:00 p.m.

## ROLL CALL

A quorum of the committee was present.

Committee Members Present:

Dr. Alma Hobbs, Chair Ms. Thursa Crittenden, Co-chair Mr. Terone Green Mr. Charlie Hill Ms. Daphne Maxwell Reid

Administration Present:

Dr. Pamela Hammond, Interim President Mr. Kevin Davenport, Vice President for Finance and Administration Mr. Hubert Harris, Chief of Staff

Legal Counsel Present:

Ms. Ramona Taylor, University Legal Counsel Ms. Christy G. Brown, Paralegal, University Legal Counsel

Other Attendees:

Ms. Jane Harris, Capital Outlay

#### **Committee Report**

The committee met to discuss: the Study of the President's House (April 2010); related information relative to the President's Residence; the timeline and process by which the Board voted to demolish the residence in November of 2011; the process by which donated restoration goods and services can be received; possible renovation concepts; and the Committee's

Board of Visitors MINUTES Page 2

commitment to restoring a healthy residence. Following discussions, the committee took a tour of the residence.

Mr. Hill presented and moved for approval the recommendation that the Board of Visitors rescind the November 2011 decision regarding the demolition of the President's Residence. The motion was seconded by Mr. Green and carried by voice vote.

Mr. Green presented and moved for approval the recommendation that if the Board of Visitors votes to rescind the November 2011 decision, the action will then be moved to the Facilities, Finance and Audit Committee to study renovation options. The motion was seconded by Ms. Reid and carried by voice vote.

There being no further business, the Chair adjourned the meeting of the Committee at 2:15 p.m.

Uma C. Hobles D. Alma Hobbs, Chair

april 1, 2015