Virginia State University Home

CIAA Scholarship

Write a 500 to 700 word essay for a chance to win a $5000 scholarship from Food Lion/Coca-Cola!

Last year, three VSU students won and 2015 may be your time if you enter. Read the complete rules here.

VSU CIAA Scholarship


Please see the names below of the 15 First Place winners:

1. Bonita Woodbury - Winston-Salem St. University

2. Soyini Hugget - Lincoln University

3. Jabreeah Harris - Lincoln University

4. Madeline Holly - Winston-Salem St. University

5. Andrea Meneses - Johnson C. Smith University

6. Jerrie Thompson - Winston-Salem St. University

7. Ramsey Brock-Smith - Bowie St. University

8. Oshauna Morgan - Johnson C. Smith University

9. Anthony Wells - Winston-Salem St. University

10. Ajanae Willis - Elizabeth City St. University

11. Breagan Bailey - Virginia St. University

12. Claude Thomas - Virginia St. University

13. Byron Rozier - Chowan University

14. Charity Timberlake - Winston-Salem St. University

15. Lynn Holloway - Virginia St. University

There will be a "post-essay contest call" on April 7th or 9th at 5 pm. The conference call will provide feedback on the essays as a whole and share some of the qualities that separated the top essays from the pool of entries. If interested, please contact Myra Phillips at (804) 524-5352 or Sheila Allen at (804) 524-6854.

Share this page: